touring caravan holiday at south lytchett manor

Make a booking

Reviews

You’ve converted me to camping! (Or glamping in my case!).
I just wanted to thank you for such a lovely stay. I stayed with you for one night on my own with my pup and I couldn’t have been happier or more at peace.
I’m not a camper in the slightest - especially not alone but I felt so safe and this is just what I needed. Your accommodation is wonderful, your site is beautiful - so clean, beautifully maintained and looked after and you can tell your staff love and care about their jobs which is so lovely to see.
I’m huge on service - I think it can completely ruin a trip and I have to say, everyone I met was so friendly, so helpful and always had a smile on their faces. It makes a world of a difference.

Sophie, Apr 2024

Thank you for making our stay so fantastic

Thank you for making our stay so fantastic.
For your complete commitment to us during our stay - thank you.
A friendly welcome, everything is spotless, the grass is cut, clean toilets and showers and a listening ear.

Mark and Stella , Mar 2024

Brilliant!

What a fabulous place! Our first outing in our new campervan to try it out, the campsite and facilities are spotless, fresh flowers and music in the loos were a nice touch, our pitch was a good size and there's a good space between pitches for privacy, the staff were lovely and friendly and couldn't be more helpful, it's also a good base for lots of places to visit, we went to Poole on the bus which stops right outside and only cost us £2 each way, plus there are lots of other places a short drive away, beaches, historical buildings all sorts, we will definitely be coming back!

thewardrobem, Nov 2023

Best campsite I’ve ever stayed at!

The best campsite I've ever stayed at, usually large complexes lose a bit of what camping is about, but not here, they had everything. Great location for walks and cycling and local pub, superb cafe and shop, along with different foodie style vans each night, different dog walking fields, even music while having a shower - it was just outstanding. Last but not least wonderful staff and well manicured pitches, well done South Lytchett!

Colin, May 2023

Love every thing about this site. They have everything covered everything is spotlessly clean and it’s the best site we have ever been on...

Sue H, Dec 2023

Great stay, very clean excellent facilities.

Great stay, very clean excellent facilities. Bus into Poole 15 mins nice shops and great walk by the Quay. Definitely return.

Janet, Nov 2023

A wonderful break!

We've just returned after a 9 night stay at this wonderful campsite. The staff was so helpful and friendly. It was incredibly clean and well kept. The facilities for dogs were amazing. And a great position for visiting so much in Dorset.

Linda, Oct 2023

We've just returned after a 9 night stay at this wonderful campsite. The staff was so helpful and friendly. It was incredibly clean and well kept. The facilities for 🐾 were amazing. And a great position for visiting so much in Dorset.

Linda S, Sep 2023

Six very enjoyable nights

We have just returned from your lovely park, we had six very enjoyable nights on pitch No 99 even the tail end of hurricane Erick and the power cut could not spoil anything. The lovely little cafe and the spotless facilities were a credit to you all. We will most definitely be booking for 2024, so keep up the great work!

Alan, Sep 2023

Best camping holiday in England

The campsite was amazing - friendly staff, all the amenities you could want and visiting food trucks for if you fancied the night off cooking.

The cleanest toilet and shower block with music to bop along in the shower to.

We really don't want to go home!

Kelly, Aug 2023

A lovely, active weekend break

A lovely active weekend break staying at South Lytchett Manor Campsite. Campsite is exceptionally well set up and managed by very helpful staff. Cycling, SUPing and walking on the doorstep.

Graham, Jul 2023

Excellent campsite

We've just spent 3 nights here and would certainly rate this campsite. Great facilities, well stocked little shop, onsite cafe, spotlessly clean bathrooms, dog friendly with generous, well spaced pitches. The onsite breakfast van cooked a mean bacon roll!

Pillion76, Jul 2023

Fantastic site

Fantastic site, very clean, staff friendly, had the best weather. Will definitely be back.

Diane, Jun 2023

It’s a yes from us!

We had a lovely one night stay at South Lytchett Manor caravan and camping park. The pre booking information was incredibly clear and detailed and helped us to pre book a restaurant before our arrival. The facilities were impeccable. It was really lovely to have on site options for dog walking both on and off lead, such a help after our long 6 hour journey. We found all the staff super friendly and helpful and we really couldn’t have asked for more. Would definitely recommend.

Elliot, Jun 2023

Our yearly go to

Our yearly go to, lovely owners and staff, beautifully kept site, good facilities, good range of pitches, onsite bakery serving delicious breads, pasties etc. Perfect location to explore the beautiful area and amazing beaches.

Alec, Jun 2023

Loved everything

We have had a fabulous week here. Loved everything. Had Prosecco Afternoon Tea from your café, which we really enjoyed while watching the Coronation in our caravan. The showers, toilets...nice, clean and warm. We have explored the area, but there is so much left to see and do.

Cheryll, May 2023

Excellent campsite with lovely large pitches

Excellent campsite with lovely large pitches with children’s playground, showers and toilets are very clean and lovely piped music - I had a good singsong! Large dog walking field which Harry the cockapoo loved. Hopefully will book again this year.

Sheila, Apr 2023

Best Customer Service Ever

No one does customer service better than the staff here ! We hired a camper van that was unsleepable in ( now that’s another story and a different review ) . After one night no sleep in the van ( I’ve slept better on the pavement)
The lovely ladies went above and beyond to halt my hysterical sobbing - they booked us straight into a shepherds hut and gave me the key first thing so I could go and ‘give myself a good talking to ( aka sleep ) . They were warm and empathetic to my 51 year old arthritic hysteria ( the thought of another nights no sleep was nearly enough to drive me to drink and drugs).
The shepherds hut was warm - comfy bed and after a night sleeping on a metal girder felt like I was sleeping on a cloud . The facilities are second to none - everyone we met was friendly , helpful and made a unpleasant night into a rather lovely 2 days .
We will be visiting again but this time to stay in the shepherds hut .

I have decided I’m more Carry on Princess and less Carry on Camping . I also enjoyed the game - how many delicious sausage rolls can I eat in day - home baked from the on-site cafe .

Well done ladies you made a perimenopausal princess happy . Hubby who feared for his life - survives to live another day.

Penelope, Oct 2022

Best Glamping Ever

Stayed in a beautiful glamping pod. Best glamping ever. Pods close to toilets etc. Grounds beautiful. Pods are in front of a playground with grass area. Ideal for our 4 and 2 year old. So many little touches like super clean bathrooms, with fresh flowers and music:) would 100% recommend. Thanks so much xxx

Odyssey, Oct 2022

Friendly and helpful

We were on a rally held at South Lytchett, a good site near Poole. Very handy if you didn't want to use the car as there is a busstop just outside the gate. For my husband it was the disabled facilities that scored highly with him. He said they were the best he had seen on a campsite. The staff were very friendly and helpful. All in all a great allround site. 10 out of 10. We will be back

Pat, Oct 2022

Faultless

We have just returned from a short break at South Lytchett Manor. Quite frankly, we couldn’t fault the site or indeed, anything about it. Staff were very efficient and friendly and all the facilities beautifully clean. The previous reviewer stated that the pitches were too close together, which was not our view as we thought they were very well-spaced apart. The entrance gate is the original from long ago when the site was a Manor House and is part of its charm. Frankly, if I had an 8’ wide caravan I’d have checked this out before booking! We last stayed at this site 34 years ago and were very impressed to find it has been upgraded sympathetically and immaculately. We hope to return for longer another time

Janet, Oct 2022

Fabulous

This site is absolutely wonderful. The location is perfect for both Poole and Swanage and everywhere in between. The facilities are the cleanest I've ever seen. It has a well stocked shop and the staff are just lovely.
There is a bus stop at the entrance so you don't need to use a car. There are also 2 local pubs within walking distance. The furthest is 20 mins away.
We will definitely return.

Andrea, Sep 2022

5th Visit

Just had our 5th stay at South Lytchett Manor in the glamping facilities. This time we stayed in the glamping pods but we've also stayed in the Shepherds Huts and Romany Caravans, all of which have their slight variations, mainly to do with location as well as slight differences in layout. The glamping pods are well situated near toilets and showers, water and washing up facilities. They're also right next to the children's play area so especially suitable for families. The shepherd huts are further from water/shower/toilet facilities and I probably wouldn't book again for that reason. The glamping units as well as the toilets and showers are well maintained and kept really clean. The music in the shower blocks is a nice touch! The shop has most basics you need and the coffee shop is excellent. Staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The site is in a great location for visiting Bournemouth, Poole, Lulworth Cove, Studland, Kimmeridge etc as well as attractions such as Monkey World and the Tank Museum. The site is dog friendly which is essential for us and it's great to have a secure off lead dog walking area. If I had to be really picky, it would be great if the glamping units had a sink and tap, and storage where you can keep things such as boots, shoes, suitcases etc off the floor. But these are small things and certainly haven't put us off from returning several times. Looking forward to visiting again next year.

Hannah, Sep 2022

First Class Site

Have just spent a fantastic fortnight on this site, amenities are cleaned thoroughly every day, as are the bins, which unlike other sites I have visited have a provision for recycling as well. The site is kept clean and tidy at all times.
South Lytchett is a superb base for the delights that Dorset has to offer whether you want to have beach days, culture days, action days or just a lazy day on site.
The team at South Lytchett are friendly and will do their best to ensure your stay goes without any hiccups. the shop is open daily until 10 with an excellent selection of food and camping essentials, the bakery and breakfast baps are not to be missed, the visiting food stalls are an added bonus for evening meals as is the St Peters Finger Pub which is within walking distance of the site.
Would thoroughly recommend a stay here of any length, we wish it could have been longer, will definitely be returning again

Mike, Aug 2022

A Jewel in the Dorset Crown

Absolutely superb! Very speedy, efficient check in. Office couldn't do enough for you. Customer service top class. Our family party stayed in 3 dog friendly shepherds huts. Beautiful decor. Nice little self contained area for the 5 shepherd huts. Clean and modern toilet and shower facilities within less than 2 minutes. Large socially distanced communal washing up area. Large 2 acre area for exercising the dogs within 3 mins walk of shepherds huts. Couldn't fault this stay.

Margaret, Apr 2021

Motorhome Visit

We have visited here 3 times now and wouldn’t hesitate to return. It’s such a lovely campsite, so clean and well managed. The pitches all around are amazing, and the facilities very clean.
The kids love cycling around and playing in the park.
Thank you for making our trips away easy and relaxing!

LJ, Aug 2020

Fantastic Site!

This is a fantastic site! All of the staff were very welcoming and helpful whilst maintaining excellent standards with Covid 19 protection! The wash rooms and facilities were spotless and the on site shop well apportioned - daily fresh bread, pastries and eggs from their own chickens were a lovely addition. Would definitely go again! Wonderful week - thank you!

Deb, Aug 2020

Outstanding in Every Way

How has it taken me so long to try this place? Excellent location which is well served by local transport, great pitches which are just the right size and orientation. The staff are all very friendly and helpful and are taking every precaution to make you feel safe...absolute no-brainer for those looking to investigate this area.
Bacon sandwich breakfast is, without doubt, unmissable...we will be back asap.
It just feels right!

Paul , Aug 2020

Dorset Gem

Second visit here. Felt confident to camp this year based on their cleaning routine which is detailed on the website. Beautiful site, deluxe pitches are spacious, unique selling point for us is a field just for dogs, everywhere is spotless and it is well-located for Wareham, Poole, Swanage, Corfe Castle and Bournemouth

Kym, Aug 2020

Everything You Want in a Campsite

Our third time here (and we don’t normally return to places). This is a really well run campsite. Friendly staff, lots of facilities kept really well, perfectly situated to explore Dorset. It’s lively without being rowdy... everyone is quiet by 10pm (perfect) but before then, people stop and talk, there’s life outside the tents and caravans, it just feels lovely.

Would recommend this place to anyone looking to stay in Dorset. Thanks for another lovely stay!

SLW44, Aug 2020

Romany Caravan Short Break

We had a fantastic time in our caravan. Everything was very clean, excellent facilities. Friendly welcome. Loved the coffee and bacon sandwiches and great shop on site. Visited Studland Bay to make the most of the sunshine and enjoyed a boat trip in Poole. Enjoyed meals in two local pubs. Highly recommend the site.

Nicola, Aug 2020

Great Location

This was our first stay at South Lychett Manor, it was recommended to me by my parents who are very seasoned caravaners,

The site was impeccably clean, well laid out and very quiet at night given the place was fully booked, the covid precautions and procedures in place were very good and everyone was adhering to them which made it a very relaxing stay, highly recommend anyone to stay here with the friendly team

Matt, Aug 2020

Wonderful Site

We stayed here for a week and cant recommend enough. Staff were really helpful and the amenities were excellent and really clean. Pitch sizes were excellent and the site is nicely laid out. All Covid-19 arrangements were in place without feeling intrusive. Fantastic coffee and bacon sandwich stall every morning and lots of nice places to eat nearby. Great location to explore Dorset. Will definitely be back

Philippa, Aug 2020

Excellent!

Really enjoyed our stay at South Lytchett, so much so we have booked again, this time we plan to take the grandchildren for a 5 day break. All the staff we spoke to were helpful and polite. Explored Poole, Swanage, Bournemouth and Wareham while on our 7 night stay. The site was immaculate and even though it was fully booked it never felt overcrowded. Fresh pastries and bread from the shop were a must each day!

Mr and Mrs P, Aug 2020

Really Impressed

When we arrived we were really impressed with the layout of the area and the very smart and tidy appearance of the camp.
The shop was well stocked, there is everything that you could possibly want while you are on holiday, the staff were very helpful and friendly there was a bus stop right outside the camp both ways which was very useful,
all in all just a very lovely campsite, we had a brilliant time definitely be coming back.
The toilets and showers were very clean, love the piped music!

Ivy, Jul 2020

Excellent

We stayed in a shepherds hut and had a camping pitch. Spotless, beautifully looked after, well organised, friendly staff, excellent coffee! Wholeheartedly recommend! Toilet/shower blocks were pleasant and kelt very clean. COVID signs and protocols adhered to. Thank you very much for a very relaxing stay!

Jil, Jul 2020

So Lovely!

Came two days early after a bad campsite had a lovely stay showers spotless pitches great . Staff were so polite and helpful. Shop is very well stocked and not expensive. Also loved the book exchange. Used the bus service which stops right outside gates very good . The warden is great and full of information telling us about it’s world war 2 history thank you for a great stay we will be back

Gaynor, Jul 2020

Simply Wonderful

I can’t praise this place enough. They were most accommodating when we changed from a tent booking to a Shepherd’s Hut. Just myself and my wife went and thoroughly enjoyed it The facilities were superb and clean, the music is a nice touch. The staff were really friendly and there was a real relaxed family atmosphere.

As for the Hut, the craftsmanship is of top quality and worth the money for that bit of glamp.

Great location as well. We will be back

Miguel, Jul 2020

Award-winners at your service

The latest from Lytchett

SEE ALL NEWS STORIES >